AAUP General Chapter Meeting

Minutes – September 3, 2015 BLC Theater

Chapter President Bryan Spiegelberg called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.

President's Welcome

- New President Spiegelberg welcomed the membership back and expressed his commitment to openness and inclusion.
- The 2015-2016 Executive Committee was introduced: Gary Brosvic, Dave Dewberry (on leave), Jeffrey Halpern, Phillip Lowrey, Kathy Price, Nuria Sanjuán, Arthur Taylor.
- The membership was updated on a meeting that took place August 11 between the AAUP executive committee, President Dr. Gregory Dell'Omo and Provost DonnaJean Fredeen. President Dell'Omo requested the meeting to discuss possible changes to the existing agreement in light of the University's financial situation. President Dell'Omo did not suggest any specific changes, and no actual modifications had been discussed at that point.

Chief Grievance Officer's Report

• CGO Halpern informed the membership of the details of the August 11 meeting. To understand the University's current and future projected budget and ascertain the Administration's claims, the executive committee asked President Dell'Omo to supply additional financial documentation. Once all the documentation is received, the Committee and its outside financial consultants will review it. At that point, the Committee will evaluate the need for modifications to the current agreement. If any modifications are deemed necessary, they will first be presented to the membership for ratification.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:45 pm. President's Convocation was scheduled to begin at 2pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Nuria Sanjuán Recording Secretary September 13, 2015